top of page
Search

Colors and More - Day 11

What is up guys, it's your boy Reese, back with another blog.


Before I dive in, I want to clear up some things from last time. Really sorry for those typos that some of you noticed and so kindly pointed out. I want to say that I was really tired that night and that they're uncharacteristic of me, but there might be an advantage in keeping your expectations low just in case a couple more slip by my hasty proof-reading tonight and I embarrass myself once again. Also, if there's any confusion about my blog intro, it comes from my not-so-budding career in vlogging, or video logging. Unfortunately, our NGO Khem now calls me "Home Boy" because of said intro. Vlog life is a hard life.


Back to important stuff. It happened to be the queen of Thailand's birthday today, so school was out! To students like us, this event is normally exciting. This time, it meant we had to play volleyball amongst ourselves rather than soccer with the kids. Volleyball played at our level is no substitute for the exhilaration that comes with bowling over kids half your size to score a barefoot, game-winning goal against the school's best player, "Q." Only half kidding there.


Logically, without any kids to provide pleasant distraction, we had a lot of time to be productive. In the morning, Sara and I nearly finished our dry fitting for the entire water supply and drainage system. The only thing holding us back now is the installation of the two sinks, which will happen tomorrow. The rest of the day was spent painting the existing shutters and covering the counter supports with finishing mortar.


Margaret takes a break from grouting to watch Sara fit together the drainage system

Let's talk about colors. From previous blog post pictures, you may have identified the primary color of our kitchen to be sky blue. You'd be correct. The trim is a light wood stain color, also very pleasant. The two colors we added today are not so conventional. I think it was Sara who dubbed the shutter color "Chipotle Mayo" and the counter support color "Day Old Guacamole." You're probably judging our color choices (trust me, I was too). However, after Taylor and I had time to observe our shutter painting handiwork, the "Chipotle Mayo" wall became my favorite wall in the kitchen.


Taylor and I putting the first coat of "Chipotle Mayo" on the existing shutters

On the other hand, I must admit I'm still skeptical of the "Day Old Guacamole" color. (We had to gamble a bit with it because painting the concrete a standard color could backfire as the wet season ends and the concrete paint cracks. Adding dye directly to the mortar mix prevents this, but adds uncertainty to the end color.) I'm hoping it'll be lighter when it dries tomorrow, but if it doesn't, it's not the end of the world. Pastor Dar has told us that Thai people like color combinations that Americans would find unusual. I'm banking on that.


Our resident expert counter finisher Andres in action with the "Day Old Guacamole" mortar

When all was said and done, we stayed an extra hour and a half to fully complete the counter support finish. Tomorrow morning we'll be off to the races on installing the sinks and finishing the piping. We're getting close!




121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page